Rio de Janeiro

It is the smallest state in the Southeast region and has the third largest population in the country. It is located in the east of the Southeast, with Minas Gerais to the north and northwest, Espírito Santo to the northeast, São Paulo to the southwest and the Atlantic Ocean to the east and south. Its capital is the city of Rio de Janeiro. The inhabitants or natives of the municipality of Rio de Janeiro are designated by the gentile "carioca". However, the term "fluminense" is also used to designate something or someone related to the state.

The present territory of Rio de Janeiro was located in sections of the Captaincy of Sao Tome and Sao Vicente, at the time of the system of hereditary captaincy in Brazil. In order to avoid the occupation of the region by the French, on March 1, 1565, the city of Rio de Janeiro was founded by Estácio de Sá. In 1763, the city became the seat of the Vice Kingdom of Brazil and the capital of the colony. In 1960 the capital was transferred to Brasilia.

One of the state's main sources of revenue is tourism. The Rio de Janeiro Carnival is the most famous in the world. Its economy is also based on the provision of services, still having a significant part of industries and little agriculture. Rio de Janeiro has the second largest economy in Brazil, second only to São Paulo, and the fourth largest in South America.

Coat of arms
Fluminense, onwards! Let's march… +
Rio de Janeiro
Total area
43,696,054 km²
17 159 960 hab